Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Fourth grade students from elementary schools throughout Region 2000 are invited to submit essays on the topic, ‘Why My Family is Special.’ Volunteer judges choose a winner from each school and then in partnership with the Optimist Club of Lynchburg – one boy and one girl are selected as the two overall winners.

Each school winner will be awarded a prize, and the two overall winners will take home a grand prize for their education savings.

The night is full of kid friendly fun, families, education and celebration. You’ll hear about everything from kids loving their families because they make the best cake to how families foster other children. It’s a wonderful evening, and we hope you’ll be a part of it.

This event is held in the Sydnor Performance Hall on the campus at the University of Lynchburg. It is free to families, teachers and students.

Special thank you to our sponsors:

Title Sponsor: Member One Federal Credit Union(use logo)
Optimist Club of Lynchburg (use logo)
University of Lynchburg (use logo)
Givens Bookstore (use logo)

Click here to view photos. 

2018 4th Grade Essay School Winners

Private Schools

Andrew Power, Cornerstone Christian Academy
Brody Wegener, Desmond T. Doss Christian Academy
Michael Medina, Holy Cross Regional Catholic School
Leya Hawkes, James River Day School
Abby-Kate Boyd, Lynchburg Christian Academy
Hannah Hinson, Onward Academy
Selah Toler, Temple Christian School
Andrew Blank, Under the Sun Academy

Amherst County Schools

Chloe McGlinchey, Elon Elementary
Lamarra Sales, Temperance Elementary

Appomattox County Schools

Steve Clark, Appomattox Elementary

Bedford County Schools

Isabel Gooch, Boonsboro Elementary
Javan Dronso, Forest Elementary
Kylie Kauffman, New London Academy
Katie Dowdy, Otter River Elementary
Victoria Van Nguyen, Thomas Jefferson Elementary

Campbell County Schools

Brooklyn Burley, Altavista Elementary
Kiley Mays, Concord Elementary
Jaelie Smith, Leesville Road Elementary
Cayden Miller, Rustburg Elementary
Breanna Pham, Tomahawk Elementary
Dominic Pumagualle, Yellow Branch Elementary

Lynchburg City Schools

Samuel Webber, Bedford Hills Elementary
Kendall Slatton, Heritage Elementary
Amelia Spencer, Linkhorne Elementary
Christopher Rye, Robert S. Payne Elementary
Lyndon Bierlein, Perrymont Elementary
Patience Moore, Sandusky Elementary
Kanas Johnson, William Bass Elementary

For more information, please contact: